Drum Roll Please

by caragab

One of my new year’s resolutions for 2012 was to memorize the Sermon on the Mount – chapters 5,6 & 7 of the book of Matthew.

Today I videotaped myself saying the whole thing. The video below is my first take. It is far from perfect but given all I have going on in the next couple of weeks I’m not going for a take two. I’m not sharing the video to show how great I am because trust me, I am not (just watch the video), but to encourage all my fellow sojourners to think about taking on Scripture memorization in 2013.

Bible teacher Beth Moore will be doing a Scripture memory challenge in 2013 – details have not yet been announced as of this posting, but keep checking her website. Beth invites all who stick with it for the entire year to Houston in January of 2014 for a private event. Trust me, you do not want to miss out on this!!

I am planning on doing it and I would love to see 100 PEOPLE FROM COLORADO go to Houston in January in 2014. I have a vision of us all wearing tie-dye Colorado Flag t-shirts! With attrition, I’m guessing we need about 500 people from Colorado to sign up to do it. Guess what that means? If you are from Colorado and I know you I am going to be bugging you a lot in the next few weeks. Please do not avoid my calls. I will find you. Also, you will in turn need to bug all of your friends. I think my friend Christy will be doing a Facebook page. Ahem. Christy.

Okay, so here is my very imperfect video. Let me say one more thing. Memorizing these words changed my life. Not because I memorized them, but because I tried (the best I could) to put them into practice. And that is the thing, if you agree to do the aforementioned Scripture memory challenge and you don’t let the words change you, then don’t bother. Sorry for the harshness of that. And also for this: if you don’t even try to memorize Scripture, how can it change you? I love you all. Finally, the moment you’ve been waiting for…hahaha:

