The Worst News Ever

by caragab

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day,‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers! Matthew 7:21-23

I’m unhinged by this.

All I can do is pray.

Lord, help me. Help me to follow you and love you in an authentic way. I don’t want to do religious things and say religious things and act religious. I want you to change me, shake me, until all that is false and fabricated falls away and only you remain. I want to do the will of your Father in heaven – help me know what that is! Forgive me when I fail to love and live the way you did. Forgive me for the times I have, and will continue to, judge others and their journey, spirituality, fruit, and sin. Make me hungry for you, only you, always you. Amen.

